The Sister Mura Foundation tries to assist migrants living with HIV with support groups, for adults and teenagers living with HIV. We help migrants with income generating projects such as the bead project which has run for 13 years, with the sewing workshop and the “Red Ribbon Cafe”, which is under construction. Another important branch of our Foundation is the educational assistance project. Currently 80 migrant families are helped yearly with school fees for primary and secondary school kids and 9 teenagers are studying at Universities or High schools on bursaries provided by the Foundation. We offer migrants with HIV skills trainings to help them to earn a living and we assist families to bury their loved ones with dignity if there is no funeral policy. We have a large vegetable garden at our Sister Mura Foundation aiming to promote healthy life style amongst our members.

To be able to do all the mentioned projects and tasks mentioned above we are assisted by a board, by a management committee of 6 support group members originating from 5 different African countries, by a half time nurse, by a gardener, by a cleaner and by a  care taker.

Our fundraising department is headed by a fundraiser who once was member of the teenagers support group. Our founder, Mr Ricus Dullaert assists the MANCO with the daily running of the organization and with fundraising in the Netherlands.

You are all welcome to 50 Dunbarstreet, Yeoville, Johannesburg to visit our project, we are open on workdays from 9.00-16.00. 

We were registered as an independent Non Profit Organisation in 2017.

NPO Number: 201-798

Bank details:

Accountholder: Sister Mura Foundation 

Bank: First National Bank, Killarney Mall, Johannesburg

Account no: 62216693540    



Fundraising partner in the Netherlands:

Stichting I.C.A.N. Trust

IBAN: NL94RABO0126164517




Our People


Chairperson: Dr Kerrigan McCarthy; 

Dr Therese Maarschalk – NGO liaison and health;

Rev. Tsepo Matubatuba – Stakeholder liaison and NGO management;

Adv. Eric Myhill – Legal support;

Jennifer Charlton – Secretary and Communications;

Sr Sylvia Simpwalo – Health and HIV counselling;

Johan Viljoen – NGO liaison and migration;

Perseverance Thulo – Member representative, Yeoville Clinic Liaison;

Tendesayi Chakheza, Immigration and health 

Sister Sylvia

Registered Nurse

Sister Sylvia is able to help our members with healthcare concerns

Board members

Sylvia, Kerrigan, Ricus, Therese, Perseverance, Jennifer

Dr Kerrigan McCarthy (Left)

Chairperson of the board

Dr McCarthy is an HIV, TB and Outbreak specialist

Committee Members

Hazel, Charles, Ricus, Portia, Blondine